‘Working together to enrich lives.’

BPL take home top national award from Swim England for second year running

BARNSLEY Premier Leisure received the award for Swim England Facility Operator of the Year - up to ten wet sites, at the ceremony held at the University of Birmingham earlier this month.

BPL made it to the final stage of the Swim England Awards for the second year running. This year they were shortlisted in the Facility Operator of the Year - up to ten sites category. The awards recognise outstanding work in the aquatics industry.

The company operates pool facilities within both Barnsley and Bassetlaw, placing particular focus on creating community groups such as an MS specific swim group to increase participation in aquatics activities.

BPL Bassetlaw’s contracts manager Glyn Davies said: “We were more hopeful than optimistic of winning for a second year running, particularly given the strong competition from Stevenage Leisure which was also shortlisted in our category.

But we all gave a huge sigh of relief and exhilaration as the winning announcement from Leon Taylor was made.

“It is difficult to put into words but a huge amount of effort continues to be made in facilitating an extremely successful and developing aquatic programme, which now includes well over 7,500 swimmers in lessons per week covering our largest range of activities and pathways to date.

“Receiving awards of this nature really does help to make all the hard work, both in delivering and organising the same, all the more worthwhile. The event was fantastic and lived up to the high standards set last year. It was all the more pleasing to have representation from all BPL wet sites."

Swim England CEO Jane Nickerson said: “All our finalists and award winners deserve the acclaim they receive for the wonderful activities they do, to ensure our aquatic sports continue to thrive. Keep up the good work.”

Swim England Awards 550 x 400

Photo, from left to right: Aimee Willmott (Represented GB at Olympics & 2018 commonwealth champion), Michael Glossop, Alex Howden, Leon Taylor (3x Olympian and Olympic Silver Medallist for 10m Synchro), Tania Hutchinson, Glyn Davies, Lauren Haywood, Simon Ferrarelli, Joanne Hinitt & Nicola Boswell.

comments powered by Disqus